Individual Awards

NAHRO offers a variety of awards and recognition to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the housing and community development field.

They are:

  •  M. Justin Herman Memorial Award -  NAHRO's most prestigious award, honors an exceptionally qualified person who has made outstanding contributions to the quality of life through service in the field of housing or community development. 
    Deadline:   August 15, 2019

  • Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award - pays homage to the recipient whose outstanding achievement and efforts reflect the importance of affordable housing and community development initiatives. 
    Deadline for applications: March 1, 2019

  • NAHRO Fellowship Program -venerates recipients who have demonstrated exemplary qualities as housing and community development advocates, professionals and/or volunteers.     
    Deadline for applications: July 1, 2019 -- The application process is now closed.
  • Emerging Leader Award - highlights an individual who has been involved in NAHRO at the national level for six years or less and has distinguished him/herself as an Emerging Leader.                 
     Deadline: August 15, 2019

Roll of Achievers - showcases residents who have made noteworthy efforts to improve as an individual or as a member of the community.

Educational Scholarships - scholarships for residents and staff family members provided by NAHRO Chapters, Regions, and State Association as well as by local agencies.  The scholarship provider may enter information about the scholarship online.

Recipients of the Emerging Leader, Herman, Lange and Wells awards will be honored
at NAHRO's National Conference in San Antonio, TX October 10-12, 2019